Imperative: Praise the Lord

Feeling a little blue at the moment for various reasons, not all of them defined. This song is an oldie but a goodie:

http://youtu.be/emRl1XfocJ0

There is so much here that refreshes me.

First, I’m fairly positive we’re going to sing a lot of gospel style music in heaven. (and I’ll FINALLY be able to harmonize! phew, that’ll take a miracle in and of itself…) So listening to songs like this one give me a more robust picture of heaven than I can imagine sitting here at my desk, or even worshipping in the styles that I’ve always worshipped in growing up. It’s a different style, one that forces my imagination into action, forces me into a world other than the world I see around me.

Second, when I look at the world around me, the lack of reconciliation on all fronts–whether racist church leaders or a divided and absurd American Congress or even my own inner turmoil–I can’t help but feel what Paul writes in Romans 8: a groaning and longing for redemption and the future glory and peace that God promises us.

But the joy in Hosanna is not just contagious–it’s compelling. It’s so wildly jubilant that it reminds me of David’s self-commands in Psalm 42:

Why are you cast down, O my soul,
and why are you in turmoil within me?
Hope in God; for I shall again praise him,
my salvation and my God.

It’s always struck me as remarkable that he’s so commanding to himself. It’s not a self-suggestion, but a self-imperative. Praise the Lord. Imagine the kingdom in its fullness. Remember his promises. Hope in God, and praise him again, even when you don’t feel like it.

So, I’m praising him again. And going for a run, because autumn leaves and endorphins don’t hurt either.

Leave a Reply

